top of page

The Work Begins

School is out, and the classes are done, as such, the projects begin. I am beginning my project with some preliminary reading in the field of astronomy with a focus on dust rings in the Helix Nebula. I don't claim to have extensive knowledge about the Helix Nebula or astronomy in general, but I took on this project with an understanding that I would start out playing from behind. Albeit, I look forward to working on-site at the University of Arizona and I am excited to not only begin to get the real work done but also to begin my learning.

This aspect of my project is what I see as one of the most interesting parts for me because I am learning most of the skills and knowledge for this project as I perform it. Example: I have very limited knowledge on the Python coding language, but the final code will be written using this language. However, this means that in the process of performing my project, I acquire another invaluable skill.

One of the activities that I am working on this week is attempting to create a Gaussian Distribution in two dimensions in Python. This will help me learn some of the Python library and get used to its order. After that, I will attempt to modify some of the parameters so that the figure is no longer circular, but elongated. I will definitely need to do some research in order to accomplish this, but we will see how it goes.

Gaussian Distribution
 

For more context about my project, please see the about page.


RECENT POST
bottom of page