top of page

More Coding Progress

Despite my first week roadblocks, I have been able to move forward with my coding practice as today I modified my code from Monday to be able to create an elliptical Gaussian Distribution. This means that the "spread" of data in the x and y directions is different.

The significance of creating these Gaussian Distributions is because they model the light distribution of a point light source in space that is being observed with a telescope of confined mirror size (which is all telescopes).

This heat colored image is from my Gaussian Distribution from Monday, but you can image that this looks like an image of a star.

The elliptical model was made by using an equation of a Gaussian Distribution that takes parameters for both x and y rather than using a radius, which is how I made my last Gaussian Distribution.

Once again, if you are interested, the code is below.


RECENT POST
bottom of page